Hooves.

29 06 2012

I know most of what I listen to would probably just seem like noise to someone else (how you can call The Jesus And Mary Chain “noise” is beyond me, they’re easily one of the best bands to have ever existed, alongside The Gruesomes but hey..people never agree do they.) But I do like music that sounds quite peaceful and ethereal. Bands such as Sons Of An Illustrious Father to Warpaint to Youth Lagoon to the band I’m going to write about.

New York has one of the best music scenes, if you can’t see that then maybe..just maybe you need help? I suggest you look up some New York bands and open your mind/ears. You’ll find something you love, trust me. From Ghost Pal to Friends- you’ll honestly find something that fits your mood.

Most of what I listen to (unintentionally) comes from either New York or the West Coast. I’ve always had an obsession with American bands. I suppose it is because my only solid life goal is to move to LA and write. Typical, right? Right. But the dream has been there since I was 14/15 so this isn’t me trying to be a hipster kid. No. This is a person who’s had the same dream for the past 11 years and doesn’t get handed a chance to do so. They say hard work pays off, and I’m tired of waiting.

Those who are familiar with Sun Kin, Ghost Pal and Sons Of An Illustrious Father should be aware of Hooves. Even if you’re not a fan of those bands, you should probably still dig Hooves.

Hooves consists of Dan Kolpin and various musicians. Their debut EP, Minimus can be found here : http://hoovesband.bandcamp.com/album/minimus-ep

If you love bands such as Wild Beasts or Stornoway, you’ll love Hooves. There is something so majestic and charming about the music that you may not have heard before. Well, even if you have..it doesn’t matter. Just turn your attention to Hooves, you won’t be disappointed.

Aside from the EP, a new track has just been released called Ocean. They describe themselves as Electronic/Folk. Don’t be a music snob and turn your nose up at it. Sure most that describe themselves in this way are usually a bit, you know-toss. Hooves aren’t. There is something entirely different about them, and although they are relatively new I do hope this year brings them a hell of a lot of recognition.

You can download the EP and Ocean from their bandcamp page. The EP is a lot more ambient than Ocean is. Ocean has more of a Folk feel to it.

Hooves make beautiful music. We are sadly part of a world where dubstep is regarded as a credible music type (I just hate it, a lot.) So it is nice to have something that means something. Which you can find in Hooves, and I truly hope you do.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

