Haunted Hearts-Something That Feels Bad Is Something That Feels Good.

3 12 2012

haunted-hearts_231112_1353665145_96_

“I kissed heaven on your lips.”

Today was just another boring day. Then I came home from work and discovered that my favourites, Dee Dee (Dum Dum Girls) and Brandon’s(Crocodiles) single as Haunted Hearts was floating around on the internet. I’m having a moment listening to this. And by that I mean I am currently glad I am not deaf, or dead. This is truly brilliant. And I’m going to try tell you why.

It doesn’t take a genius to realise how important Dum Dum Girls and Crocodiles have been to me over the past few years. Crocodiles debut record dragged me through some shit times when it came out. Dum Dum Girls bring out the vulnerable side that isn’t so bad. Both bands have songs that ooze out any love and any frustrations you may carry around. When I hear No Black Clouds For Dee Dee I just automatically think of my girlfriend. When I hear Coming Down, I feel less shit about whatever I see. Although I’m 26, both bands are helping with the pain of growing up.

Brandon and Dee Dee are evidently the best couple in music. You don’t need to have a brain like Einstein to know how much they adore and love each other, just listen to their songs. So when they make music together, the love is still going to be there, right? Of course.

I cannot tell you enough how excited I am about them making music together as Haunted Hearts. I really can’t. Imagine if they toured together and brought it to the UK. I am writing that in the hopes they see this, and do it. It’d be like that time I saw Morrissey for the first time and felt life make sense for once.

Brandon’s vocals are caressed gently by Dee Dee, which are both hypnotically intertwined which just catapults you into a state of bliss, and of course ; love. The way they sing “tie me up” and “tie me down” is just so utterly divine.

There are so many things I could say about this song, but all you need to know for now is that it pours out the purest sense of devotion. Devotion in a way that most wouldn’t understand. Music is the foundation and glue to most of the best things in life. This is a beautiful moment in music, and I honestly cannot wait for the record. I think I’m going to just be a recluse for a while when it comes out. Just to deal with how beautiful it is going to be.

You’ve obviously heard Blank Girl by Dum Dum Girls and Brandon, right? It’s on the I Will Be record, and that again just shows how they make such beautiful music together. Not forgetting their Christmas song, Merry Christmas Baby (Please Don’t Die.)

The single is out on the 5th February on their label, Zoo Music. Which although is a bit after Valentine’s, would still make a good present (that’s a hint..a massive hint.)

Anyway, you can (and should) go listen to one of the best songs of the year right here : http://pitchfork.com/reviews/tracks/14635-something-that-feels-bad-is-something-that-feels-good/

I feel I should give you 5 reasons as to why this song is nothing short of perfection, so here it goes :

  • Their vocals together is like a dream. You know how some things in life are just meant to be? Well, that’s the case here. This had to happen, sure it took a while. But it’s happened. Proof that you’ve got to wait it out, and the good will come. So yeah, the vocals are stunning.
  • The guitar makes you feel like you’re on a trip. You’re floating off into the sun with the one you love with you and nothing really matters. And why should it, when you have the one you adore with you. It warms your bones.
  • You can keep hitting repeat and you find different things to fall in love with. I’m on my tenth listen I think. I don’t plan on stopping until it’s time to go to bed.
  • It’s an unconventional love song, and they are ALWAYS the best kind.
  • It makes you want to write your own masterpiece and dedicate it to the one you adore.

So there you have it. Another ramble as to why I love a song more than I love some things. I don’t care. This has brightened up my dull Monday. I know most are going to say this songs sounds a bit like The Jesus And Mary Chain, but to be honest it sounds like two people who are in love, making incredible music. And guess what? That’s exactly what it is!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

