Katherine Crowe-Smile.

15 12 2012

 

227109_10152335299665007_974958244_n

 

We glorify those who do not need it. From footballers that are paid too much money for running up and down for 90 minutes to someone standing in a kitchen on telly for half an hour telling us how to cook the perfect roast potato. Nothing is perfect, so it is wasted watching. We fall for it because it is constantly rammed down our necks. Then we have things such as X-Factor which again, glorifies rubbish. Chances (and money) are wasted on those no one will care about in 12 months time, and that is being kind. Or they become another gimmick that we can do without. Where is the raw talent? Where is the drive? Where is the passion? I’m about to tell you.

Start of 2010 my mother was diagnosed with breast cancer, if you’ve read anything I’ve written before then you know. It doesn’t need talking about in detail again. She did a fashion show in aid of cancer charities in October last year. I flew over to see her as a surprise, and was greeted with a “OH MY GOD WHAT ARE YOU DOING HERE!!??” I watched her and the others, in awe of their strength and determination to not let some bastarding wanker of a disease ruin them and stop them from living their lives.

I remember going home that evening and my mum telling me about one person in particular that was there. A singer by the name of Kath. I remember her walking up and down the catwalk and mouthing the words to the songs with her daughter by her side. This would have melted the hardest of hearts; it was a beacon of hope and a symbol of courage and also, determination.

I have seen Kath sing a few times with my mum, and every single time I am reduced to a bawling mess. A voice like hers, a personality like hers deserves to be heard and seen by all. This lady goes beyond being inspiring. She’s on a different level altogether. People like her are so so rare, and their fight is something that you cannot help but admire.

When she covers songs, she does what only the best do; she makes it her own. She makes you believe that she wrote the song. One song in particular is her version of Smile. As I’m far too sensitive for my own liking, it does the opposite- it makes me cry. Like a baby. However, it is truly one of the most ethereal things I have ever heard. She makes you believe that she wrote the song, or maybe the song was written for Kath. Maybe she was destined to find this song and just make it her own. Her angelic voice makes you connect with the lyrics more than you could ever imagine connecting to a song.

Recently she went to Abbey Road Studios and recorded a stunning version of the song with the London Metropolitan Symphony Orchestra. It is stripped so bare that, as clichéd as it sounds- all you can do when you listen to it is just smile. Smile because someone so wonderful lived out a dream. Smile because although this person is going through hell, they have created something so beautiful. It goes beyond words. I know I dislike the Isle Of Man, but seeing everyone come together for such a brilliant cause is just, well, it leaves you in awe basically. That’s all there is to it.

You can download the song(s) here: https://itunes.apple.com/gb/album/smile/id586584142?i=586584570

And here: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Smile/dp/B00AMVZDRM

If you have Facebook, you can join the event page here also: https://www.facebook.com/events/517206194971048/

As of Wednesday, I’ve been told HMV on the Isle Of Man will be selling the single. As I have a Christmas job there, I will be forcing as many people as I can to buy it. If they don’t? Well, what kind of person would they be to refuse.

I don’t download music at all, but I urge you to download this song from the above links and bombard everyone you can think of to do the same. It is for a cause that sadly too many of us can relate to. Besides, it’s about time a Christmas Number 1 had meaning.

Be selfless, be kind. Smile.

Actions

Information

One response

16 12 2012
Mummyp

awesome

Leave a Reply

