SAVAGE SISTER-Savage Sister.

25 07 2013

 

 

My neigbour has his TV on loud. Not even my Grandma has her TV on this loud and she doesn’t have fantastic hearing. Whatever. I’ve found something to play loud enough to not just drown him out, but the world too.

I wrote about a band called Savage Sister this year. I likened their style to a band called Tamaryn. You don’t have to know me on a personal level to know that this is the kind of music which I generally swayed towards. Savage Sister have a menacing name, but their sound is anything but that. Their music soothes and relaxes you. Even if you have a dickish neighbour and a car alarm across the street that keeps going off. It’s nothing because I’m listening to a blissed out and hazy masterpiece.

Savage Sister have created a record that is made for sacred listening. Don’t play it at parties because there will always be that obnoxious ass who will slate it and not understand it. Play it when you are alone, as the sun sinks down. Which is what I’m doing now. I’m playing it louder than I normally would because of the twit downstairs; regardless of the volume you play it at- it is so easy to hear just how beautiful this record it, and you can tell it was carefully crafted.

The best kind of music is made out of love and with no fear to go beyond what is familiar, and also what is expected. To make something that is typical may make you a bore. To make something that lacks passion doesn’t make you believable. You cannot connect to things that mean nothing to you. It’s why we fall in love with the right person, eventually. Everything has been wrong, and the right thing just appears. Music works like this also. I was going to try link it in, but I’ve missed a trick there.

Bands like Savage Sister make you want to create music. I have no musical talent, the only thing I can do is write about music that I love. But they make me wish I had some talent. I love the way that, on their record they manage to mix tranquility with the dark sounds found in Shoegaze. They’ve taken everything I love about music and made it into their own. It is inspiring and it is so beautiful.

The way you feel when you hear certain bands for the first time just stays with you forever, it becomes a memory that you find yourself going back to over and over when you listen to new music- just waiting for that feeling. When it doesn’t come it is so disappointing, but when you experience that feeling then it is truly one of the most moving things ever.

I cannot help but write with such passion and admiration for Savage Sister. To put it simply I do it because I know they make music that comes from a place not many go to and they make music with such passion. To write about them with anything but wouldn’t make any sense.

I cannot compare the songs off the self-titled record to anything, but I can compare the feeling I get when I listen to it to a record that means the world to me. I nearly set my kitchen on fire when I played Stridulum II by Zola Jesus a few years ago when it came out; my attention was anywhere but where I was. I was being exposed to something truly beautiful, and it wasn’t as harsh (but still amazing) as The Spoils. It was dark and heavenly. I found something I knew that would last in her music; the same has happened with Savage Sister. But I’m sat down watching the sunset (and writing this of course) as I listen to Savage Sister. This is my definition of bliss.

Normally I would mention certain songs and talk about how stunning they are. I can’t do that with this record as each song just flows perfectly into the other. Everything feels in place and as if it should be there. There is nothing worse than listening to a record that is 60% filler. Savage Sister’s record is a story to the soul. Each song links perfectly into the other. They make you feel like you are on a spiritual journey. It doesn’t matter where you are going and sometimes it doesn’t even matter how you get there. All you need to know is that you will get there.

The dark sound that breezes through the record and the haunting vocals are just magnificent and they just make you feel as if you are in a trance. The daze they place you in is one that you hope you don’t snap out of any time soon. They have this force in their music that is so delicate yet it is strong enough to lure you in, and to just keep you there.

If you feel you are missing something in your life, chances are it could be Savage Sister. If it isn’t, well you’re missing out. All I know is that they are the kind of band I wouldn’t just listen to at 4am when no one is awake and slumber missed me out again. I could (and do) listen to them at any time. They are the perfect soundtrack to everyday life, but to just have them on in the background would be senseless as sooner or later- they will stop you in your tracks and you’ll be left in awe of what you are hearing.

I think I have listened to more new music this year so far than I did last year, and Savage Sister will be one of the few bands I keep close to my heart this year. They offer more than is expected from a band in their music, which is why they are perfect to turn to for guidance or just to feel a sense of comfort. Last year it was Tamaryn that did it. I didn’t just listen to their music- I read their lyrics and used it as some kind of guidance. If a band can’t guide you, then who can.

You can listen to and purchase Savage Sister’s record from their bandcamp page: http://savagesister.bandcamp.com/

The sun’s gone down now, and the record has finished. A perfect ending to a perfect record. And they say perfection doesn’t exist! Fools.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

