DUM DUM GIRLS-TOO TRUE.

20 01 2014

 

 

As I’ve not gone into work today (I’m ill..and I’ve lost my voice) I should probably do something productive like sleeping- which I will do. I fell asleep around 4am and woke up 3 hours later. I feel as if I’ve been hit by something bigger and stronger than me, not really hard to beat that to be honest but anyway.

Next week a record I’ve been beyond excited about comes out. I was going to stay away from the streaming of it because I wanted the excitement to stay there. I was silly to think it wouldn’t. As I listen to Too True I can hear no resemblance between this and I Will Be and Only In Dreams. This is when you know a band are phenomenal. If they’re going to keep making the same record over and over, you lose interest. I don’t need to mention how brilliant their past releases are, because I won’t stop. Each one has sentimental value to me, I guess that’s why Dum Dum Girls mean a little bit more to me than other bands do. It’s Dee Dee honest and vulnerable lyrics that hit me right in the same place Morrissey’s lyrics do.

Too True is a relaxed record that from start to finish makes you feel as if you are not where you currently are. Even the most stable human beings wish they were somewhere else. Loathe where you are but use the hate to change your surroundings.

The record starts with Cult Of Love which sounds like something from the Goth era of the early 80s mixed with a James Bond soundtrack. Evil Blooms keeps up that energetic pace that is in Cult Of Love. Both songs feel as if you are running into the unknown but this uncertainty will become a state of bliss that you simply cannot do without. “Why be good? Be beautiful and sad. It’s all you’ve ever had.” If anyone else sang or wrote this line I’d probably regard them as being a miserable git, and that’s coming from me! But the way in which Dee Dee sings it makes you feel okay with feeling low on those days where getting out of bed is the same as climbing a mountain.

Rimbaud Eyes is brilliant and I hope it becomes a single. The video would probably be as hypnotic and as debauched as Lost Boys And Girls Club. Rimbaud Eyes is a gorgeous plea to love and fascination. Personally I love this song because of the reference to the greatest poet ever. A troubled poet with innocent eyes, but most of the great ones are like that. Troubled but innocent in some ways; it all fits together somehow.

Are You Okay is one of the few that make me teary eyed, but the hazy feel to it fills the listener with some reassurance. I learnt very early on that with Dum Dum Girls songs that they have songs that can break and mend your heart in one go. I’ve leant on some of their songs for many reasons, and I guess I can sort of stand up straight now feeling alright. Are You Okay is beautiful live. When I saw them play this last month, this was the one that made me keep my eyes shut and just sway. I don’t know where I was in that moment, but music helps you create your own personal moments that nobody can take from you.

Too True To Be Good feels like a dream. Dee Dee’s words sound as if she is recalling a dream she once had. A dream that is taking her away and making her feel something. We all have those days where we are left numb, and Too True To Be Good is like a longing of wanting more. You get more but is it what you want? “I remind myself it’s gonna be fine.” That’s a line to keep hold of. Most things are too true to be good. It’s alright.

The intro to In The Wake Of You reminds me of White Wedding by Billy Idol- just the guitar. In The Wake Of You really projects how fragile Dee Dee’s lyrics can be. You can runaway with the guitar on this song; just keep on running. It doesn’t really matter where you go. I think it is pretty obvious that Too True is a record that assists with you escaping and discovering. It’s making my ill day off work less awful. Dum Dum Girls have the power to be the soundtrack to your life, but if you’re a fan you’d know this already.

Lost Boys And Girls Club is for those who don’t care for direction, they just want to go. Half the time it doesn’t matter where you’re going or what you’re doing, so give it no thought. I’ve already written my thoughts on this song a few times but I’m not ever going to be tired of hearing it. It’s alright to be lost.

Little Minx has a Punk beat to it. If Joey Ramone was alive, and how I wish he was, he would sound perfect singing this with Dee Dee. There’s something about it that just makes me imagine Joey putting his vocals on it. Of course it sounds just perfect with Dee Dee’s haunting voice. What I love about this record is that you can hear how they’ve been experimenting with different sounds which has led them onto creating this beautiful record. I’m not going to love any other record as much as this one all year. I just know it.

The last two song on Too True; Under These Hands and Trouble Is My Name are my favourites. I can’t pick just one favourite, I think my mind would explode if I had to even try. But these two are lyrically my favourite. There’s something about them that make you just want to roam the street with no means of contact upon you. Leave your phone at home and go outside for a while. I’d do that if I wasn’t ill. They are the perfect songs to end the record on because it feels right to just hit play again when the record finishes. Trouble Is My Name is the one I know I’ll be playing over and over, the one I can’t go a day without listening to.

When it comes to writing about Dum Dum Girls I find it easy to be honest about how their music makes me feel. I don’t feel bad for admitting that I’ve cried to some of their songs or that some of them just sum everything up for me. If music can’t give you hope, then what’s the point? I’ve read no reviews about Too True, and I don’t want or need to. I just want to listen to it and keep up the excitement that my favourite band have put out a full length record. Too True is nothing like I Will Be, Only In Dreams, He Gets Me High and End Of Daze. If you’ve listened to all their records you will have heard how each is nothing like the previous. A band that plays around with their sound is a band that lasts. With Dum Dum Girls you know that music is everything to them, and that’s why their music means a hell of a lot to me and others. Dee Dee’s lyrics are like poems for the soul. She doesn’t need to be aggressive to make a point or to be heard.

Too True is undoubtedly going to be the one record I play religiously this year. It embodies everything you want in music; freedom, lust, comfort and confidence.

Stay in a dream, in a daze and blast out Too True.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

