L.A.R

9 02 2014

In love, darkness, desperation and heartache, 

I was guided by the angel of New York City. 

Walking with clenched fists and gritting my teeth. 

I want to be set free, I’m in search of Candy. 

The angel took me to their hell and showed me how to make it a peaceful state of heaven. 

A piece of me, a piece of him. 

I turned a blind eye to my sins. 

Slowly and softly his words carry me through. 

 I drag my feet across unfamiliar ground, 

And I welcome the ugly feelings that I should ignore. 

I wait for the unknown. 

His words circle my mind going deep into my soul. 

I’d go back in time to find a cure. 

For all the souls that didn’t quite get there. 

In love and courage, you’re standing in your leather and shades. 

I’ll linger on. 

I wrote this a few hours after hearing Lou Reed had died last year. I know you should never publicise your private thoughts, but I suppose some things just have to be let out. I don’t enjoy showing anyone my poor attempt at poetry, I’ve only ever shown not even a handful. I have no idea why I’m doing this but maybe it doesn’t need a reason. Not everything does.

The loss of someone like Lou is beyond words, and it leaves a gap. But at least someone like him existed and gave us a legacy of music that will forever inspire.

You’re missed Lou.

Actions

Information

3 responses

10 02 2014
JM

Wow. What a poem. That is something else. Your emotions are running straight through it. Painful because Lou has gone, yet hopeful because his memory and spirit will never die. Wasn’t expecting to read something like this, but I’m so glad you posted it. Many people I’ve spoken to are still raw over Lou’s death. It was such a shock. Goes to show any legend can leave us at any moment. We must hold onto them for as long as we can and never take them for granted. Love never dies xx

10 02 2014
Olivia

I’ve already thanked you, but again….thank you 🙂 xx

10 02 2014
JM

You’re very welcome! 🙂 xx

Leave a Reply

